Counselors

What is the Role of the School Counselor?

School counselors are certified/licensed educators who improve student success for ALL students by implementing a comprehensive school counseling program. SCHOOL COUNSELORS hold, at minimum, a master’s degree in school counseling, meet the state certification/licensure standards, fulfill continuing education requirements, and uphold ASCA ethical and professional standards.

School counselors work to maximize student success, promoting access and equity for all students. As vital members of the school, school counselors create a school culture of success for all.

School counselors help all students:

· apply academic achievement strategies

· manage emotions and apply interpersonal skills

· plan for postsecondary options (higher education, military, work force)

· provide individual student academic planning and goal setting

· deliver school counseling classroom lessons

· provide short-term counseling to students

· complete referrals for long-term support

· collaborate with families/teachers/ administrators/ community for student success

· advocate for students at individual education plan meetings and other student-focused meetings

· analyze data to identify student issues, needs and challenges

· act as a system change agent to improve equity and access, achievement, and opportunities for all student


                    Who Is My PHS Counselor?

The Parkville High School Counseling Team has caseloads divided by ALPA. To identify your school counselor, simply look at the first letter of your last name and match it to the list below. Example: If your last name is James your school counselor is Ms. Laura Serico, unless you are in the ESOL 1+2 or AVID specialty programs. Each counselor works with one administrator whose name is listed under the administrator column next to the school counselor’s name. You can contact your school counselor by sending an email through Schoology or by sending an email to their email address.

 

First Letter of Last Name

School Counselor

Administrator

A-C

Mr. Lee Sherline

lsherline@bcps.org

 

Ms. Maria McClung

mmclung@bcps.org

D-I

Ms. Kelsey Bardoff

kbardoff@bcps.org

 

Mr. Paul Satterfield

psatterfield@bcps.org

 

J-M

Ms. Laura Serico

lserico@bcps.org

 

Ms. Amy Tyler

atyler3@bcps.org

 

N-R

Ms. Alanisha Allen

aallen9@bcps.org

 

Mr. Carl Armstrong

carmstrong4@bcps.org

S-Z

Ms. Emily Wolf

ewolf2@bcps.org

 

Mr. Willis Spencer

wspencer2@bcps.org

 

 

Ms. James and Mr. Ciorra’s caseloads are not divided by ALPHA. They are divided by specialty.

ESOl 1 and ESOL 2

Mr. Alex Ciorra

aciorra@bcps.org

 

College and Career

AVID, Department Chair

Ms. Debra James

djames4@bcps.org